Guide
Domain price in Pakistan: .com and .pk costs in rupees
The domain price in Pakistan depends on the ending: a .pk costs Rs 2,100 a year at PKNIC, charged as Rs 4,200 every two years, and a .com costs Rs 2,999–3,890 a year at Pakistani registrars. The first-year price is rarely the price you keep paying, so renewals and a six-year total are worked out for each.
What a domain costs in Pakistan
A .pk domain costs Rs 2,100 a year at PKNIC, the .pk registry, charged as Rs 4,200 every two years. A .com costs Rs 2,999–3,890 a year at Pakistani registrars, or about US$11 a year at a dollar registrar such as Cloudflare, before your bank’s card charges. Rupee prices are from each company’s own page, as of October 2026. The dollar price is the registry’s fee plus ICANN’s, worked out below.
| Domain | Where | Price | Renewal |
|---|---|---|---|
| .pk | PKNIC | Rs 4,200 for 2 years (Rs 2,100 a year) | Same as registration |
| .pk | Websouls | Rs 4,299 for 2 years | Not listed separately |
| .pk | HosterPK | Rs 4,499 for 2 years | Rs 4,499 |
| .com | Websouls | Rs 2,999 a year | Not stated on the page |
| .com | HosterPK | Rs 3,430 a year | Rs 3,890 |
| .com | Hostinger Pakistan | Rs 499 in year one on a 3-year term | Regular price Rs 4,399 |
| .com | Cloudflare Registrar | US$11.17 from November 1, 2026 (about Rs 3,100), US$10.46 before | At cost, no markup |
The cheapest advertised price is not always the cheapest domain. The six-year table below shows what each costs once renewals and card charges are in.
Check the date on any price list. Pages that rank for this search carry older numbers. Websouls’s own guide, dated December 21, 2024, lists a .pk at Rs 3,199 for two years. Its live page, dated October 19, 2026, says Rs 4,299.
HosterPK’s article still lists a .pk at Rs 3,899. Its live domain page says that was the price until August 1, 2026, and now shows Rs 4,499. Use PKNIC’s Rs 4,200 for two years as the floor for a Pakistan .pk: a two-year price below it is probably from before the rise.
.pk prices: PKNIC and registrars
PKNIC’s pricing page says registrants in Pakistan pay Rs 2,100 per year, and registrants outside Pakistan pay US$15.99. The fee is charged for two years at a time and can be paid up to ten years ahead. Renewal costs the same as registration. A news item on PKNIC’s home page says the price rose by Rs 300 on August 1, 2026, from Rs 1,800 a year.
The two-year arithmetic:
- PKNIC: 2 x Rs 2,100 = Rs 4,200.
- Websouls: Rs 4,299, which is Rs 99 more than PKNIC.
- HosterPK: Rs 4,499, which is Rs 299 more than PKNIC.
The extra rupees buy more ways to pay: Websouls takes bank transfer, card, JazzCash or PayPal. PKNIC’s payment page lists credit card, pre-paid card and cheques or bank drafts, with no cash option. PKNIC is only the registry and, by its own statement, does not provide website or email hosting.
Check the name rules before you fall for a name. PKNIC’s domain structure page sets the minimum at four characters before .pk, so zara.pk is allowed and zi.pk is not. A shorter name needs .com.pk, which allows one character. A name cannot start or end with a dash or contain two dashes in a row.
Both registrars price a .com.pk the same as a .pk: Rs 4,299 for two years at Websouls and Rs 4,499 at HosterPK.
.com prices in rupees and dollars
Pakistani registrars. Websouls lists .com at Rs 2,999 a year, with Rs 3,999 crossed out, on a page it dates October 19, 2026. It does not state the renewal price, so ask at checkout. HosterPK lists .com at Rs 3,430 to register or transfer and Rs 3,890 to renew. Both offer a free .com with a hosting plan, which is a hosting sale, not a free domain.
Hostinger Pakistan. Its domain search page shows .com at Rs 499 for the first year, with Rs 4,399 crossed out, and the footnote says the price applies when you choose a 3-year term. The page does not price years two and three, so Rs 499 is not the cost of a domain. Read the three-year total on the checkout screen before you compare it with the others.
Dollar registrars. Cloudflare’s registrar page says it does not mark up domain prices, so you pay what the registry and ICANN charge. Its documents say a domain renews at the registry’s list price. Neither prints a .com price, which we checked on October 20, 2026.
The nearest dated source is a third-party tracker, cfdomainpricing.com, which lists Cloudflare’s .com at US$10.46 for registration and renewal, last updated October 13, 2026. That matches the arithmetic. For .com, at-cost is Verisign’s wholesale fee plus ICANN’s US$0.20 per-transaction fee. Verisign’s April 23, 2026 release raises its fee for each new and renewal .com from US$10.26 to US$10.97 on November 1, 2026. At cost, that takes Cloudflare’s price from US$10.46 to US$11.17, about Rs 197 more at today’s rate, before card charges. The US$11.17 is our derivation, not a Cloudflare quote. A rupee registrar sets its own price, so expect .com to move up a little everywhere.
The catch is the card. Take US$11.17 at Rs 277 to the dollar, the interbank close on October 16, 2026, paid with a Bank Alfalah credit card. Its schedule of charges lists a foreign transaction fee of 4.5% of the amount or Rs 125, whichever is higher.
On top comes advance tax under section 236Y of the Income Tax Ordinance, charged on the gross amount sent abroad by card. Since July 1, 2026 it is 0.5% for filers on the Active Taxpayers List and 1% for non-filers, according to FBR’s Withholding Tax Rates Card under the Finance Act 2026, down from 5% and 10%. Some bank schedules, Bank Alfalah’s among them, still print 5% and 10%. Use FBR’s rates, and if your statement shows more, ask the bank. The tax is charged on the rupee value of the purchase, not on the bank’s fee:
- US$11.17 x Rs 277 = Rs 3,094.
- Foreign fee: 4.5% x Rs 3,094 = Rs 139, above the Rs 125 minimum.
- Advance tax for a filer: 0.5% x Rs 3,094 = Rs 15. Total: Rs 3,094 + Rs 139 + Rs 15 = Rs 3,248.
- Advance tax for a non-filer: 1% x Rs 3,094 = Rs 31. Total: Rs 3,094 + Rs 139 + Rs 31 = Rs 3,264.
Another bank’s foreign fee will differ, so check your own card’s before you pay.
No international card. Cloudflare’s FAQ says it uses only the primary payment method on your account, so it needs a card that works abroad. A rupee registrar is the way to pay without one: Websouls lists credit cards, PayPal, JazzCash, online banking and bank transfer, and PKNIC’s payment page lists a credit card, a pre-paid card and cheques.
Other endings. A .net or .org costs more than a .com at both registrars. HosterPK lists .net at Rs 4,340 to register and Rs 5,170 to renew, and .org at Rs 4,390 and Rs 5,220. Websouls lists .net at Rs 4,205 and .org at Rs 3,782 a year. If the .com is taken, a .pk is cheaper than either.
Renewal traps to check before you pay
- The year-one price. HosterPK’s .com goes from Rs 3,430 to Rs 3,890 on renewal, which is Rs 460 more, or 13%. Hostinger’s Rs 499 is tied to a 3-year term and Rs 4,399 is the regular price. Write down the renewal price before you pay for year one.
- The free domain with hosting. Websouls says the free .com is for the first year, with a hosting plan of one year or longer, and is subject to the applicable renewal terms. Free for a year, then full price.
- Billing in two-year steps. A .pk is paid in advance every two years, and PKNIC’s policy says the fee is non-refundable. A reminder by email is a courtesy, not a guarantee.
- Missing the date. PKNIC’s policy says an unpaid domain can be deactivated and, after a two-week hold, offered to third parties first come, first served. Put the renewal date in your phone calendar sixty days ahead.
- Auto-renew on a card that stops working. Cloudflare’s registrar documents make auto-renew the default. Keep a card with international payments switched on, or the renewal can fail. Its FAQ also says all renewals are final and it will not refund them, so switch auto-renew off before the date for a domain you no longer want.
- The tax line. Websouls notes that taxes may apply. Compare the final amount at checkout, not the price on the list.
- Who the owner is. Register the domain in your own name and email. PKNIC treats the registrant as responsible for keeping contact details current, so a domain registered in a designer’s name leaves you chasing someone else to renew it.
- Public contact details. PKNIC’s policy says all registration information is in the public domain and accessible on the internet, so a .pk registered with your home address and personal mobile number can be looked up by anyone. Use a business email and a number you are willing to publish. Websouls says its free WHOIS protection keeps eligible personal information private, and Cloudflare’s documents say WHOIS is redacted by default, but PKNIC’s policy makes no such offer, so ask whether the protection covers a .pk before you rely on it.
What six years costs
Six years is three .pk payments, so it is a fair comparison. Assumptions: today’s prices hold for six years, which they will not, Rs 277 to the dollar, US$11.17 a year at Cloudflare, and the card charges above for the dollar registrar (a 4.5% foreign fee plus 0.5% advance tax for a filer).
| Domain and where | Arithmetic | Six years | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| .pk at PKNIC | 3 x Rs 4,200 | Rs 12,600 | Rs 2,100 |
| .pk at Websouls | 3 x Rs 4,299 | Rs 12,897 | Rs 2,150 |
| .pk at HosterPK | 3 x Rs 4,499 | Rs 13,497 | Rs 2,250 |
| .com at Cloudflare, filer’s card | 6 x US$11.17 = US$67.02 = Rs 18,565, plus card charges at 5% | About Rs 19,490 | About Rs 3,250 |
| .com at HosterPK | Rs 3,430 + 5 x Rs 3,890 | Rs 22,880 | About Rs 3,810 |
| .com at Websouls, if it renews at Rs 3,999 | Rs 2,999 + 5 x Rs 3,999 | Rs 22,994 | About Rs 3,830 |
A .com costs about Rs 1,150–1,730 more a year than a .pk at PKNIC.
The card charges in the Cloudflare row are 4.5% + 0.5% = 5% of the rupee amount, the foreign fee and the filer’s advance tax together: Rs 18,565 × 1.05 = Rs 19,493, about Rs 19,490. A non-filer pays 4.5% + 1% = 5.5%: Rs 18,565 × 1.055 = Rs 19,586, about Rs 19,590.
The Websouls row is an assumption. Its live page does not state a renewal price, and Rs 3,999 is the renewal price in its December 2024 guide and the crossed-out price on the live page. Confirm it at checkout.
Year one and year six rank the registrars in opposite order. In year one Websouls at Rs 2,999 is Rs 249 below Cloudflare with a filer’s card at Rs 3,248.
- If Websouls renews at Rs 3,999, Cloudflare is cheaper from year two for both. Over two years a filer pays 2 x Rs 3,248 = Rs 6,496 and a non-filer 2 x Rs 3,264 = Rs 6,528, against Rs 2,999 + Rs 3,999 = Rs 6,998 at Websouls.
- HosterPK’s Rs 3,430 is above Cloudflare’s Rs 3,248 for a filer and Rs 3,264 for a non-filer, so Cloudflare is cheaper from year one.
The rule is short. If you will keep the name one year, take the lowest price today. If you will keep it two years or more, compare renewal prices before you pay for year one.
.com or .pk: which to pick
- Your name is free as a .com. Take the .com. Websouls describes it as the extension for global businesses, and it costs about Rs 1,150–1,730 a year more.
- The .com is taken, or you sell only inside Pakistan. Take the .pk, if the name has four or more characters, or the .com.pk if it is shorter. Websouls describes .pk as for Pakistani brands, and Hostinger suggests a country extension when the .com is gone.
- You can afford both. Buy the name you will print on packaging and let the other one forward to it. Only buy a second domain if you will keep paying for it.
- You have not chosen the name. Do that first with online store name ideas for Pakistan and the free shop name generator, then check the domain.
- You have no money yet. Skip the domain. A free store starts on a subdomain, and free online store options in Pakistan compares what the free plans allow.
How a domain connects to a store
A domain is a name; the store lives somewhere else. Connecting them takes four steps:
- Your store builder gives you two DNS records: one for www and one for the bare domain, such as yourbrand.com.
- You add them where the domain’s DNS is managed. For most .com domains that is the registrar’s own panel. PKNIC does not host websites or email, so for a .pk use the DNS panel of the registrar you bought it through, or point the .pk’s nameservers at a DNS host such as Cloudflare first.
- You wait. DNS changes can take from a few minutes to several hours to show up.
- You pick the main address, www or the bare domain, and let the other redirect to it.
Some registrars cannot point a bare domain at another address, so they forward it to www instead. That is fine, as long as the forward is permanent.
Where your store fits
Stores start at yourbrand.storelala.com, so you can open first and add a domain later. You can buy a .com inside Storelala on any plan, and Core and Grow can connect a .pk or .com you already own. A .pk comes from PKNIC, so Storelala cannot sell one: register it at PKNIC or a registrar, then connect it. The steps are in connect your own domain, and every plan is on the pricing page. For what else a store costs in a year, see the yearly cost of an ecommerce website in Pakistan, and for filer status and the tax you owe, the online business tax guide.
Questions sellers ask
How much does a .pk domain cost in Pakistan?
PKNIC charges Rs 2,100 per year for registrants in Pakistan, billed every two years, so Rs 4,200 at a time. Registrars add their own margin: Websouls lists Rs 4,299 and HosterPK Rs 4,499 for two years, as of October 2026. A list showing a two-year .pk under Rs 4,200 is probably from before PKNIC’s August 1, 2026 rise.
How much does a .com domain cost in Pakistan?
Pakistani registrars list .com between Rs 2,999 and Rs 3,890 a year as of October 2026: Websouls at Rs 2,999 and HosterPK at Rs 3,430 to register and Rs 3,890 to renew. Dollar registrars such as Cloudflare charge the registry’s fee plus ICANN’s, US$10.46 now and US$11.17 from November 1, 2026, plus your bank’s card charges, about 5% on top for a filer.
Which is cheaper, a .com or a .pk?
A .pk. Over six years it is Rs 12,600 at PKNIC, against about Rs 19,490 for a .com bought at Cloudflare with a filer’s card and Rs 22,880 at HosterPK, so a .com costs about Rs 1,150 to 1,730 more a year. Take the .com if the name is free as one, and the .pk if the .com is taken or you sell only inside Pakistan.
Why is my renewal price higher, and what if I miss it?
Many registrars discount the first year and renew at the regular price. HosterPK’s .com is Rs 3,430 to register and Rs 3,890 to renew, and Hostinger’s Rs 499 offer needs a 3-year term, against a regular price of Rs 4,399. If you miss a .pk renewal, PKNIC’s policy says it can deactivate the domain and, after a two-week hold, offer it to others first come, first served.
Can I pay for a domain without an international card?
Yes, with a rupee registrar. Websouls lists JazzCash, online banking and bank transfer, and PKNIC takes a credit card, a pre-paid card or a cheque. Cloudflare uses only the primary payment method on your account, so it needs a card that works abroad, plus the bank’s foreign fee and the advance tax worked out above.
Can I buy a .pk domain from Storelala, and do I need one to start?
You cannot buy a .pk from Storelala, because a .pk comes from PKNIC. You can buy a .com inside Storelala on any plan, and Core and Grow can connect a .pk or .com you already own. You do not need a domain to start: a store runs on a free address such as yourbrand.storelala.com while you test products and prices.